Rooty Hill Chess Club: Annual General Meeting, Tues 21 June 2022

Started 7:02 pm AGM Minutes

- 1. Welcome By Secretary, Jonathan Adams
- 2. Apologies and Attendance No apologies were received.

15 members & 4 juniors present initially which was a quorum. These numbers increased substantially during the meeting.

- 3. Minutes of previous AGM held December 16th 2019 were made available before and at the meeting and are attached. They had been previously ratified.
- Secretary's report was read out and is attached. Motion to approve the Secretary's report, moved by Soliman Soliman, seconded by Arthur Vella. Carried.
- Treasurer's report was read out and is attached.
 Motion to approve the Treasurer's report, moved by Hans Muller, seconded by Soliman Soliman. Carried.
- Determination of our Next AGM date, set for June 2023 (20th or 27th) Passed on a show of hands, no dissent.
- Motion from the Secretary to amend the club's constitution:
 "That the constitution of the club be amended to add the position of Vice President, and up to 2 Members Without Portfolio, to the club Council."

Explanation: Our current constitution states that: "The Council shall consist of President, Treasurer, Secretary, Webmaster, Assistant Webmaster, Communications Officer and Equipment Officer."

To enable more sharing of the load, it was proposed to amend the composition of the Council by adding the above roles.

The motion was seconded by Bill Herreros. Carried.

The new wording will be: "The Council shall consist of President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Webmaster, Assistant Webmaster, Communications Officer, Equipment Officer and up to 2 Members Without Portfolio."

8. Election of office bearers for the forthcoming year June 2022- June 2023

Elected office bearers:

President, Jonathan Adams (Past President Peter Cassettari was not available for reelection)

Moved by Soliman Soliman, seconded by Arthur Vella. Carried.

Vice President, Jose Cyriac Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Soliman Soliman. Carried.

Secretary, Tarek Rahman Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Arthur Vella. Carried. Treasurer, Soliman Soliman (Bill Herreros was not available for re-election) Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Arthur Vella. Carried.

Webmaster, Winston Zhao Chen Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Peter Cassettari. Carried.

Assistant Webmaster, Soliman Soliman Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Michael Jansen. Carried.

Communications officer, Chinthaka (Jay) Rupasinghe Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Jose Cyriac. Carried.

Equipment officer, Vacant (we are open to volunteers!)

Member without portfolio 1, Anup Kumar Siva Sankaran Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Dennis Okan. Carried.

Member without portfolio 2, Gavin Marner Moved by Jonathan Adams, seconded by Soliman Soliman. Carried.

Determination of Annual membership fees for 2022-23 including the cost of NSWCA membership
 Approved \$35.00 for membership of Rooty Hill Chess Club;
 \$25.00 for Concession (Pensioners/u20). \$20.00 for Juniors (under 18) \$30.00 for family Juniors (under 18)
 Above fees includes the NSWCA Registered Player Fee for Rating purposes
 Full Membership of NSWCA is an additional \$20 for Adults, \$10.00 for Pensioners/u20
 All adult members must join West HQ - for Juniors a parent must join.

10. Calendar for 2023 – to be determined but will include similar tournaments to 2022 11. General Business – None.

There being no other business, the meeting closed at 7.27 pm.

Tarek Rahman

Secretary, Rooty Hill Chess Club

28 June, 2022

Other Signatures:

Current President – Jonathan Adams

Past President – Peter Cassettari

Current Treasurer – Soliman Soliman

Past Treasurer – Bill Herreros

Past Secretary – Jonathan Adams