2016 Johns-Putra Junior Elite Training

Anshika Jain and Sayum Rupasinghe have been selected for the 2016 Johns-Putra Junior Elite Training Squad.

The following article was published in the ACF Newsletter 31 May 2016. 

The JETS Training Squad is sponsored by Geraldine Johns-Putra. It aims to encourage the next generation of champions. Applicants are judged by enthusiasm and commitment as well as rating,  with a maximum of 30 players and at least one third of either gender.

Members of the 2016 JETS Squad will attend the national junior training camp to be held at St Andrews Hall in Roseville, Sydney from July 4-8.

The first three days will involve free intensive coaching in small groups. The final two days of the camp will include competing in a training tournament, with post-game analysis by JETS coaches GM Zhang Zhong (Chinese born Singaporean registered), GM Darryl Johansen, GM Max Illingworth, IM Moulthun Ly and Australian Champion IM Bobby Cheng. GM Zhao Zong-Yuan will serve as a guest coach.

 GM Zhang Zhong (twice Chinese champion) with wife WGM Li Ruofan

The successful applicants were:

Archer, Saffron ACT
Asaka, Samuel VIC
Au, Alexander QLD
Bracks, Sebastian VIC
Chang, Emma VIC
Chang, Sophie VIC
Chiverton, Fergus VIC
Dharmapuri, Sri Krishna Kousel WA
Dharmapuri, Kundan WA
Dullaway, Erin QLD
Herrmann, Oscar SA
Hooi, Kathleen VIC
Jain, Anshika NSW
Lee, Abigail ACT
Li, Oliver VIC
Marsh, Luke NSW
Marsh, Brett NSW
Maunders, Myiesha VIC
Melamed, Daniel NSW
Mikkelsen, Max NSW
Rumley, William TAS
Rupasinghe, Sayum NSW
Shen, Fiona NSW
Shen, Kevin NSW
Slater-Jones, Henry QLD
Slater-Jones, Tom QLD
Tennakoon, Nadula QLD
Wang, Yifan Eva VIC
Woon, Rachel VIC
Yang, Gordon NSW

Sayum Rupasinghe wins 2016 U8 Australian Juniors

Congratulations to Sayum Rupasinghe!!

Sayum Rupasinghe has won the 2016 U8 Australian Juniors after beating Katherine Pan of NSW in a playoff for the U8 title after both players ended up equal first on  8 points.

Our Juniors did very well overall with very good second places for Kevin, Rowan and Ryan. 

Australian Junior Under 18
=7th Christian, Kashish NSW 1689 4

Australian Junior Under 16
1st Cannon, David VIC 1987 7
=2 Gooch, Heath VIC 1592 6.5
=2 Willathgamuwa, Kevin NSW 1986 6.5.
=2 Han, Denny SA 1741 6.5

Australian Junior Under 14
1st Yu, Bobby VIC 1829 7
=2 Au, Alexander QLD 1439 6.5
=2 Liu, David QLD 1599 6.5
=2 Clarke, Matthew NSW 1582 6.5 .
=2 Willathgamuwa, Rowan NSW 1917 6.5

Australian Junior Under 12
1st Ostapenko, Michael QLD 1662 8
2nd Lane, Ryan NSW 1400 7.5
33rd Wu, Yifu NSW 1335 4.5

Australian Junior Under 10
=9th Yap, Jonathan NSW 333 5.5

Australian Junior Under 8
=1st Pan, Katherine NSW 353 8
=1st Rupasinghe, Sayum NSW 8

Sayum wins play off for the title!



ACF awards Kristine Quek 2015 Arlauskas Medal

Congratulations to Kristine Quek!!

The Australian Chess Federation (ACF) has awarded WFM Kristine Quek the 2015 Arlauskas Medal for Australian Junior player of the year. She is the first female to win this prestigious award.

Kristine had a very good 2015 chess year and in June became Woman FIDE Master after sharing third place at the 2015 Oceania Zonal for Women held in North Sydney and achieving the required WFM norm with a score of 6 out of 9.

In January Kristine also won the Girls U18 Australian Junior Championship.